THE FIX by Natasha Sinel

The Fix

The Fix by Natasha Sinel

September 1, 2015 from Sky Pony Press

Purchase a copy here


At the same time devastating and hopeful, THE FIX tells the story of sometimes bad-girl Macy Lyons and her journey of self-discovery and awakening, friendship and honesty.

Macy meets the mysterious Sebastian at a party, and the next day he disappears. When Macy finds out Sebastian has been checked into the Behavioral Health center at the local hospital, she decides to visit – and neither teen’s life will ever be the same. An undeniable connection forms between them, one that neither teen can ignore despite the whirlwind of change happening to each of them. They help each other face their fears, their faults, and the deep truths that no one ever wants to share, and in the end, they find a fix – together.

With authentic writing and a solid plot, THE FIX is a strong debut novel from a great new voice in YA. The characters are complex and likable, and their stories will keep you turning the pages and wanting to know more. Keep a box of tissues handy, as this is definitely a tearjerker – in the worst and best kinds of ways.

The verdict: A strong contemporary debut about truth, love, and finding your own fixes when life gets rough.

A Superb Thriller: HOLDING SMOKE by Elle Cosimano

22639535

Elle Cosimano once again blows it out of the water with her latest paranormal mystery, HOLDING SMOKE. John “Smoke” Conlan was accused of two murders – one of which he didn’t commit. Still a criminal doing time at a juvenile detention center known as the “Y”, Smoke is trying to recover from being murdered by his father.

That’s right, John Smoke Conlan was murdered. Six minutes later, he came back to life. Ever since then, Smoke has been able to travel outside his body, and he uses this new ability to gather information on his prison-mates to trade for favors. This leads Smoke to meet “Pink”, a tough girl working night shift at a bar, the only person who can see his ghostly form. When new evidence comes to light that might help clear Smoke’s name, he enlists Pink’s help, and they become entwined in a web of secrets and danger.

A masterfully crafted thriller that will keep you guessing until literally the very last page, Smoke’s story is thrilling, raw, and gritty. The paranormal twist gives HOLDING SMOKE a unique edge all its own, and Cosimano’s superb writing will keep readers turning the pages long into the night. The author really knows her topic, due to her own background and a ton of research and reading. The work she put into the story really shows in the details, the accuracy, and the depth of the characters. This is a fantastic book that readers will simply not be able to put down! 


GIVEAWAY TIME! You can enter to win a pre-ordered hardcover of HOLDING SMOKE and a swag bag from Elle Cosimano.

Visit the Rafflecopter HERE to enter! 


EC150417185844_ppcopy

Elle Cosimano grew up in the Washington, D.C., suburbs, the daughter of a maximum security prison warden and an elementary school teacher who rode a Harley. As a teen, she spent summers working on a fishing boat in the Chesapeake Bay. A failed student of the hard sciences, she discovered her true calling in social and behavioral studies while majoring in psychology at St. Mary’s College of Maryland. Fifteen years later, Elle set aside a successful real-estate career to pursue writing. Her debut novel, NEARLY GONE, was an Edgar Award finalist, winner of the International Thriller Writers’ Best Young Adult Novel Award, and winner of the inaugural Mathical Book Award recognizing mathematics in children’s literature. Elle lives with her husband and two sons in Mexico, somewhere between the jungle and the sea.


Add to Goodreads.

Buy a copy.

Visit Elle Cosimano’s website.

Follow Elle on Twitter.

NOWHERE BUT HERE Trailer Reveal!

 I am super excited to be part of the trailer reveal for the first book in the amazing Katie McGarry’s newest series! The book is called NOWHERE BUT HERE and it’s the start of the Thunder Road series. 

Displaying NowhereButHere_finalFC.JPG

An unforgettable new series from acclaimed author Katie McGarry about taking risks, opening your heart and ending up in a place you never imagined possible 

Seventeen-year-old Emily likes her life the way it is: doting parents, good friends, good school in a safe neighborhood. Sure, she’s curious about her biological father—the one who chose life in a motorcycle club, the Reign of Terror, over being a parent—but that doesn’t mean she wants to be a part of his world. But when a reluctant visit turns to an extended summer vacation among relatives she never knew she had, one thing becomes clear: nothing is what it seems. Not the club, not her secret-keeping father and not Oz, a guy with suck-me-in blue eyes who can help her understand them both.

Oz wants one thing: to join the Reign of Terror. They’re the good guys. They protect people. They’re…family. And while Emily—the gorgeous and sheltered daughter of the club’s most respected member—is in town, he’s gonna prove it to her. So when her father asks him to keep her safe from a rival club with a score to settle, Oz knows it’s his shot at his dream. What he doesn’t count on is that Emily just might turn that dream upside down.

No one wants them to be together. But sometimes the right person is the one you least expect, and the road you fear the most is the one that leads you home.

VIEW THE TRAILER HERE!


Displaying 727977_4aa6fbc1efec04f23545d36e1121f806.jpg

Pre-Order NOWHERE BUT HERE, Register your Pre-Order and you’ll get the eBook you’ve been asking for, Abby’s Story, CHASING IMPOSSIBLE absolutely free! PLUS, you’ll also be entered to win a $500 VISA Gift Card! Register at http://bit.ly/1Mt8cjr.  

NOWHERE BUT HERE Pre-Order:

Amazon

Kobo

BAM

Barnes and Noble

iBooks

IndieBound


About Katie McGarry:

Displaying Katie McGarry 1.jpgKatie McGarry was a teenager during the age of grunge and boy bands and remembers those years as the best and worst of her life. She is a lover of music, happy endings, reality television, and is a secret University of Kentucky basketball fan.

Katie is the author of full length YA novels, PUSHING THE LIMITS, DARE YOU TO, CRASH INTO YOU, TAKE ME ON,  BREAKING THE RULES, and NOWHERE BUT HERE and the e-novellas, CROSSING THE LINE and RED AT NIGHT. Her debut YA novel, PUSHING THE LIMITS was a 2012 Goodreads Choice Finalist for YA Fiction, a RT Magazine’s 2012 Reviewer’s Choice Awards Nominee for Young Adult Contemporary Novel, a double Rita Finalist, and a 2013 YALSA Top Ten Teen Pick. DARE YOU TO was also a Goodreads Choice Finalist for YA Fiction and won RT Magazine’s Reviewer’s Choice Best Book Award for Young Adult Contemporary fiction in 2013.

Links:

Website: www.katielmcgarry.com

Twitter: @katiemcgarry

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/katielmcgarry

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4575371.Katie_McGarry?from_search=true

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/katielmcgarry/

Tumbler: https://www.tumblr.com/blog/katiemcgarryauthor

Instagram: http://instagram.com/katielmcgarry

Displaying InkSlinger Blogger Final.jpg

Cover Reveal! TOR MADDOX: UNLEASHED by Liz Coley

INTRODUCING

Tor Maddox, a heroine for our times

I know that one day, I’m going to have to live in the real world. I’d like it to be a decent one.” – Tor

Book I Tor Maddox: Unleashed

When sixteen-year old Torrance Olivia Maddox, self-confessed news junkie, figures out that the mysterious and deadly New Flu is being spread by dogs, she has one question—if the danger is that obvious to her, why hasn’t the government revealed the truth and taken action?

Her search for the answer will take her farther than she ever imagined. But then again, she never imagined that man’s best friend could become public enemy number one, that men in black might show up in her cozy suburban neighborhood, that she’d spend her sixteenth birthday as a teenaged runaway, and that her effort to save one dog would become a mission to save them all.

How does that sounds, dear readers?! Definitely sounds like a fun and quirky political mystery, and it is! If you’re ready for the cover, then scroll!

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

TM1_Unleashed_Front_Cover

TM1_Unleashed_Full_Cover

Don’t you just absolutely love that cover? I know I do! There aren’t enough fun political thrillers out there, and definitely not enough YA books with dogs! TOR MADDOX has both of those covered. Stay tuned later this week for my review of TOR MADDOX: UNLEASHED! 


 

Goodreads: Book reviews, recommendations, and discussion

You can enter to win a signed ARC of TOR MADDOX #1 on Goodreads! ENTER HERE. 


LizColeyHeadshot

Liz Coley’s internationally best-selling psychological thriller Pretty Girl-13 has been published in 12 languages on 5 continents and been recognized by the American Library Association on two select lists for 2014 including Best Fiction for Young Adults.

Liz’s other publications include alternate history/time travel/romance Out of Xibalba and teen thrillers in the new Tor Maddox series. Her short fiction has appeared in Cosmos Magazine and numerous anthologies.

Liz invites you to follow her as @LizColeyBooks on Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook, and visit her website at LizColeyBooks.blogspot.com.

Find Liz Coley’s books on AMAZON and GOODREADS.


Stay tuned for the rest of the TOR MADDOX series, from YA author Liz Coley! Book 2 releases on June 1 and Book 3 will be released July 1. 

Book 2 Tor Maddox: Embedded

Life has been way too quiet for Tor Maddox since her fifteen minutes of CNN fame. Then agent-in-training Rick Turner reappears with what sounds like a simple assignment—to embed herself as his eyes and ears in her own high school. When she agrees to keep tabs on high school state swim champ Hamilton Parker for the Feds, she is plunged into the deep end of a sinister plot. Knowing that freedom, justice, and lives are at stake again, Tor jumps in feet first, but has she gotten in over her head this time?

When observe and report becomes kiss and tell, Tor’s first mission may blow up in her face.

Book 3 Tor Maddox: Mistaken

Eight leotards and a ball gown—that’s what Tor Maddox packed for her summer ballet intensive in New York. Pity she never arrived. Kidnapped once by the good guys and once by the bad ones, Tor finds herself involved in a high seas adventure featuring princesses and pirates, a wedding ring, and the guy she thought she’d never be allowed to see again, junior man-in-black Rick Turner.

THE BOY WITH THE HIDDEN NAME Review and Read-alikes

The Boy with the Hidden Name (Otherworld, #2)

The Boy With the Hidden Name 

by Skylar Dorset

Published by Sourcefire Books

December 2, 2014


SummaryThis is not your average trip to Fairyland…

Selkie Stewart has just saved her quasi-boyfriend, Ben, from a fairy prison run by the Seelie Court. If they weren’t the two most-wanted individuals in the Otherworld before, they definitely are now. Along with Ben and the rest of their ragtag group of allies-Selkie’s ogre aunts; a wizard named Will; Ben’s cousin Safford; and Kelsey, Selkie’s best friend-Selkie is ready to embrace her destiny and bring the Court down. Until she hears the rest of her prophecy: Benedict le Fay will betray you, and then he will die.


Review:

Selkie’s adventures continue in the sequel, and conclusion (?) to Skylar Dorset’s debut, THE GIRL WHO NEVER WAS. The action picks up right where we left off, and THE BOY WITH THE HIDDEN NAME takes you on a whirlwind journey through previously unexplored parts of the Otherworld with new and tantalizing characters.

We are finally introduced to the goblin king, known as the Erlking, who is the most talented seducer in Thisworld and the Otherworld. The Erlking’s talents, which are not limited to seduction, as well as his goblin army, prove invaluable throughout the story. The most interesting part of his presence was the Erlking’s past connections to Will. Will is initially portrayed as a bumbling old professor-type, but he is obviously still quite the charming wizard – Selkie’s Aunt True and the Erlking both pine, at times, over their past relationships with Will.

The blatant disregard for binary relationship norms is just spectacular. Not a single character is disgusted by anyone’s choice of partner. No one is really surprised by the fact that Will has had relationships with both sexes. Even Selkie’s sometimes-boyfriend, Ben, makes jokes about the Erlking’s seducing powers. 

The world-building continues to be absolutely fantastic and magical. Selkie travels to the Unseelie court, the goblin city underneath Boston, and the realm of the Hidden Folk under Iceland.  Each location is more mystifying and lovely than the last, and in each Selkie and her friends encounter more danger and trouble. Eventually the danger comes to a head, they can’t evade the Seelie anymore, and it is time for the ultimate battle. Who knew the fate of the world would be decided at Beacon Street in Boston?

Skylar Dorset’s debut series, Otherworld, is an astoundingly well-done urban fantasy in the style of Neverworld and Daughter of Smoke & Bone. If you’re looking to get swept up in a world-spanning fantasy adventure, check out the Otherworld series!


My review of THE GIRL WHO NEVER WAS can be found HERE


OTHERWORLD series Read-Alikes:

                          The Darkest Part of the Forest  Indelible (The Twixt, #1)  Daughter of Smoke & Bone (Daughter of Smoke & Bone, #1)

THE GIRL WHO NEVER WAS Review and Read-alikes

The Girl Who Never Was (Otherworld, #1)

The Girl Who Never Was 

by Skylar Dorset

Published by Sourcefire Books

June 1, 2014


SummaryTHE GIRL WHO NEVER WAS is the story of Selkie Stewart, who thinks she’s a totally normal teenager growing up in Boston. Sure, her father is in an insane asylum, her mother left her on his doorstep—literally—when she was a baby, and she’s being raised by two ancient aunts who spend their time hunting gnomes in their Beacon Hill townhouse. But other than that her life is totally normal! She’s got an adventurous best friend who’s always got her back and an unrequited crush on an older boy named Ben. Just like any other teenager, right?

When Selkie goes in search of the mother she’s never known, she gets more than she bargained for. It turns out that her mother is faerie royalty, which would make Selkie a faerie princess—except for the part where her father is an ogre, which makes her only half of anything. Even more confusing, there’s a prophecy that Selkie is going to destroy the tyrannical Seelie Court, which is why her mother actually wants to kill her. Selkie has been kept hidden all her life by her adoring aunts, with the help of a Salem wizard named Will. And Ben. Because the boy she thinks she’s in love with turns out to be a faerie whose enchantment has kept her alive, but also kept her in the dark about her own life.

Now, with enchantments dissolved and prophecies swinging into action, Selkie finds herself on a series of mad quests to save the people she’s always loved and a life she’s learning to love. But in a supernatural world of increasingly complex alliances and distressingly complicated deceptions, it’s so hard to know who to trust. Does her mother really wish to kill her? Would Will sacrifice her for the sake of the prophecy? And does Ben really love her or is it all an elaborate ruse? In order to survive, Selkie realizes that the key is learning—and accepting—who she really is.


Review:

This book was fantastic. 

Selkie is a great protagonist, who is strong and interesting, but doesn’t try to save the world all on her own. It is a little hard for Selkie to come to terms with her Otherworld heritage, but once she does the girl is tenacious.

Not only that, she accepts the help of other people she knows she needs. Don’t get me wrong, Selkie would rather go it alone – just to keep these people safe. But Will, Ben, Kelsey, Safford, and even a couple of minor characters are just too integral to the story to leave out. I absolutely loved that these characters were important, fully conceived, and well through their own story arcs and character development. A good heroine like Selkie has an awesome team backing her up, and a fun sidekick like Kelsey. 

The world-building is so well done. The author writes with personal knowledge of Boston, the real world setting, but not with so much detail that we get bored with it. Just pertinent information about various places in Boston is shared, and it is so well done that I feel like I could recognize these places! The same for the Otherworld, of which we only get to see the Seelie court. However, I feel like I could find my own way from Boston to the gates of the faerie castle because it was so well written!

Skylar Dorset’s debut novel is an astoundingly well-done urban fantasy in the style of Neverworld and Daughter of Smoke & Bone. If you’re looking to get swept up in a world-spanning fantasy adventure, check out the Otherworld series!


OTHERWORLD series Read-Alikes:

 

The Darkest Part of the Forest  Indelible (The Twixt, #1)  Daughter of Smoke & Bone (Daughter of Smoke & Bone, #1)

The Widdershins Adventures – Review & Giveaway

Thief's Covenant (Widdershins Adventures, #1)False Covenant (Widdershins Adventures, #2)Lost Covenant (Widdershins Adventures, #3)

Covenant's End (Widdershins Adventures, #4)

The Widdershins Adventures  are an undiscovered goldmine in the world of YA fiction. The 4 book series follows the wild and crazy adventures of teenage thief girl, Widdershins, once known as Adrienne Satti. An orphan, whose entire family was murdered, Widdershins roams the back alleys and dark corners of her home city of Davillon. On the run from the human and supernatural forces that want her dead, Widdershins survives by her wit and skill, and more than a little help from her own personal god, Olgun. The pair make an unlikely dynamic duo as they swashbuckle their way into fights and talk their way out of them. 

The world-building is well-conceived, intricate, and very complex, and well-written, especially for a YA novel.  The dialogue, particularly Widdershins talking to herself, to Olgun, and to people she is about to render unconscious, is absolutely hilarious and far more entertaining than anything I’ve read in a YA contemporary book. Widdershins is absolutely relatable, lovable, hilarious, and entertaining. I would have to say that she is an incredibly successful fantasy character. Marmell really knows what he’s doing and appears to be quite the hidden master of fantasy writing. As his only YA series, the Widdershins novels are some of the best fantasy for teens that you could find.

The series comes to a smashing and satisfying conclusion in the final book, COVENANT’S END, which releases today from Pyr Books.


Ari Marmell was born in New York, moved to Houston when he was a year old, moved to Austin when he was 27, but has spent most of his life living in other worlds through a combination of writing and roleplaying games. He has been writing more or less constantly for the last dozen years, though he has only been paid for it the past five. He is the author of multiple roleplaying game supplements including work on Dungeons & Dragons. Ari lives in Austin with his wife, George, and two cats.


Doesn’t this series sound awesome? Check out my Character Appreciation Post for Widdershins, and if you like what you see enter my giveaway to win ARCs of books 3 and 4 in the series!