Magical Realism

I never thought I would like magical realism. It feels to literary, too pretentious, you know? But I was very wrong. Oh, so wrong. Magical realism is exactly what I like. It’s that “wtf” feeling you get, it’s the “how did that even happen?” kind of question you ask while reading. It’s the uncertainty at the end of a story because you’re not sure if anything you just read even happened outside of the protagonist’s head. And I love that. So here are some of my favorite magical realism YA novels! 

Bone Gap  Grasshopper Jungle

When My Heart Was Wicked The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender

Leave a Reply

