Monday Musings: Science and the Library

mondaymusingsI’ve been preparing to do some quick and easy biology/environment science experiments with my monthly homeschool program, called STEAM Explorers. This has been a challenge for me to do. STEM subjects are my weak area, and I recognize that. However, I don’t have the time or resources to devote to learning a lot about STEM subjects and activities in order to actively teach my homeschool group new thing and do really cool, innovative tasks. I just can’t do it. So I settle for quirky little activities that are fun and easy for me to prepare, and hope that the kids get something out of it while simultaneously learning from their social interactions with other youth at the program.

Is this good enough? For now, it has to be. For the future? How can I improve? Should I really take time away from my other programs or responsibilities to make these programs more in depth? Should I devote resources to bringing in experts who are already prepared to educate and engage on STEM topics? 

What do you do in your library, classroom, or home? 

2 thoughts on “Monday Musings: Science and the Library

Leave a Reply

