Monday Musings: Reading Challenges

mondaymusings

READING CHALLENGES

In the past I have found that, for me, reading challenges are used for 2 things: entering to win cool books, and reading along with awards/best-of lists. In particular, I used to follow the YALSA reading challenges, like the Debut Author Challenge, the Best of the Best.

I no longer do book challenges. I have so many other commitments for reading and reviewing that I find myself feeling bad about not completing even half of the challenge lists. Many of the books I end up reading (for reviewing, especially) are not on the challenge lists, or wouldn’t fit in the challenge. This does feel kind of bad. And I don’t want that.

I now set my own reading goals (200 books per year challenge!) and personal challenges (read more manga this year!) and try to think about how I’m doing to meet those each year.

However, I know there is a lot of community in these book challenges – you’re reading along with other people, sharing your favorites, discussing what is and is not on the list, etc. I really like that aspect of it, but it’s just not something that works for me anymore.

Do you participate in reading challenges? Share the ones you are involved in below in the comments, and tell me why you do them!

One thought on “Monday Musings: Reading Challenges

  1. I joined two challenges this year because blogger friends were hosting and sort of nudged me along. I like the idea but mostly find them unrewarding. The ones I’m in this year are very loose so it’s much easier to check off certain boxes to meet goals. I personally have been finding it more satisfying to set a reading goal (150 this year I think?) and keep track of what I’m actually reading during the month in my monthly reading trackers.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

