Monday Musings: Online Behavior & Harassment

mondaymusings

Monday is almost over but that doesn’t mean I don’t have time for a Monday Musings post! Forgive my fever-addled mind and overall weariness – I got sick over the weekend and still haven’t fully recovered. Anyway, I want to talk about the book blogging community some more.

Last week I asked some questions about the purpose of book blogging. Today I want to talk about the conduct of the YA and book blogging community on the internet. Over the past few months I have seen a few instances of seriously bad behavior on the internet. I know, shocking, right? The bad behavior came from book bloggers, book lovers, and others in the YA community. They got angry, they said a lot of bad things, and this harassment led to other people leaving social media and generally feeling like complete shit about themselves, their career, their books, their purpose in being alive. 

This is really not good, people. We’re better than this. 

Most recently, YA author Stacey Jay shut down her Kickstarter that would support her to write a sequel to Princess of Thorns. 

I believe that people should be able to say whatever the hell they want about things, but that doesn’t make it right. That doesn’t make you a good person. If you make other people feel like shit, that makes you a shitty person, too. And yeah, I’m seriously generalizing here. But if you say terrible things about someone doing a NOT TERRIBLE thing, you should feel bad about yourself for making that person feel bad. 

Thoughts? Comments? Concerns? Let’s talk, people.

I want to know what you think, what you feel, and what you’re too afraid to say on Twitter because you don’t want to end up on Storify.

 

 

Leave a Reply

