Character Appreciation Post #3: Robby Brees from Grasshopper Jungle

Full Name: Robby Brees

Book:   Grasshopper Jungle

  

Author: Andrew Smith

Summary

In the small town of Ealing, Iowa, Austin and his best friend Robby have accidentally unleashed an unstoppable army. An army of horny, hungry, six-foot-tall praying mantises that only want to do two things.

This is the truth. This is history.
It’s the end of the world. And nobody knows anything about it.

You know what I mean.

Funny, intense, complex, and brave,Grasshopper Jungle brilliantly weaves together everything from testicle-dissolving genetically modified corn to the struggles of recession-era, small-town America in this groundbreaking coming-of-age stunner.

Background:  Robby Brees is the co-star of Austin Sczerba’s life. He’s a small town kid who smokes too much and spends a lot of time in his room listening to The Rolling Stones. Robby also has a huge crush on his best friend, Austin Sczerba. Austin has a girlfriend named Shannon. Things get pretty complicated, even though they’re actually quite simple. Boys can’t help who they fall in love with. That’s just the truth. Robby isn’t any different. But he isn’t just any boy – he’s also the co-pilot of the end of the world, and he’s its savior, too. 

I have to be honest here – I liked Robby a lot more than I liked the narrator, Austin. This isn’t really a surprise. I always end up liking the best friend characters in Andrew Smith’s books (*cough*CONNERKIRK*cough*) than the main character. Robby is no exception. If I lived in Ealing, Iowa, I would have been in love with Robby Brees. Now that would have been complicated. 

Qualities: Chill. Cute. Contains Unstoppable Stoldier-killing blood pumping through his veins. Looks really good in a grimacing lemur mask. 

Quotes:

“Well, if I’m going to get beat up for being queer, at least I’d like to know one time what it feels like to be kissed.”

“Do you think I’m queer, Rob?” I asked.

“I don’t care if you’re queer,” Robby said. “Queer is just a word. Like orange. I knowwho you are. There’s no one word for that.”

“History does show that nothing means a hell of a lot more than nothing when teenagers talk. In this case, Robby knew it meant that I did not want to talk about it, so he left me alone.

Robby Brees was such a good friend.” – Austin Sczerba

 

Character Appreciation Posts are a blog template thought up by Batool at Batool’s Book Feels. I loved the idea so much, that I just had to join in.  I’ll try to do a weekly CAP on Fridays from here on out, so if you like the idea go ahead and join in and post about your favorite book characters!

One thought on “Character Appreciation Post #3: Robby Brees from Grasshopper Jungle

  1. Pingback: Top 14 Characters of 2014 | Blogging Between the Lines

Leave a Reply

