Monday Memories: In the Forests of the Night

In the Forests of the Night (Den of Shadows, #1) I think I first found In the Forests of the Night at the library. Not the library I went to most often as a kid (the Mary Johnston Memorial Library), but the Pinconning branch library. This was where we went when we wanted to find something new, browse shelves with a different selection than what I was used to. Honestly, their selection wasn’t any  better – just different. These are poor little towns with poor little libraries struggling along and doing the best they could. And I used the hell out of them as a kid and pre-teen.
The cover probably caught my eye, along with the strange gothic font on the cover and spine. A girl who was a tiger, too? Fascinating. Then I started reading and found out that she wasn’t really a tiger – but a vampire.
My entire literary world changed. This is not an exaggeration. With this book, and its sequel Demon in My View, I had opened myself up to a whole new world of YA paranormal fiction. I wanted to read about vampires, shapeshifters, teen girls with cool names and special powers. Before that I’d read mostly about young adult males flying spaceships and going on grand adventures. But this was something completely different.
Not only that – it had an online community. The Den of Shadows was Amelia Atwater-Rhodes’ online home, where she blogged about writing, shared extra content about her characters, posted fanart, and discussed her journey as a writer. Amelia was a teenager when she wrote and published this, her first book. I was so impressed with her. Honestly, I still am. She made a huge impact on my creative efforts, on my reading and consumption of literature, and on the time I spent online as a teen.
 Since ItFotN there have been many additions to the Den of Shadows world, and another series about an entirely different world of shapeshifters, which I also really enjoy. Amelia is still writing, and it means a lot to me to follow her books because I’ve been reading them as long as she’s been writing them.

mondaymemories

 

Monday Memories is an original feature/weekly meme created and hosted by Miss Print and the Book Bandit. We created Monday Memories because we both love and collect books and wanted to talk about them. We hope you’ll want to share too.

Leave a Reply

