Seize the Tuesday #6: Setting Aside Time to Write

seizethetuesdaybanner_zpsf766e20a

Seize the Tuesday is a book blogger meme created by Adi Alsaid and the Let’s Get Lost Buddies Street Team, to share stories about how we’ve seized the Tuesday, with a special focus on the particular book we’re reading. We’ll post on as many Tuesdays as possible and share our posts online with the hashtag: #LetsAllGetLost. If you loved Let’s Get Lost then join the LGL Buddies on Facebook and help promote the book! 


 Participant-2014-Facebook-ProfileJust 5 days left.

Five. Days.

Until December 1st.

And NaNoWriMo 2014 is over! 

This week I seized the Tuesday (and Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday) by taking time off for writing. It’s Thanksgiving week here in Northern Kentucky, the kids are out of school and people are flocking to the library in droves searching for last-minute cookbooks and holiday movies. Meanwhile, I’ll be at home, headphones on, Mockingjay Part 1 Soundtrack on repeat, just writing and writing and writing.

I decided to take time off the last week of November so that I could finish my NaNoWriMo novel. It was a great decision. I’ve been spending more and more hours every week at my job (I’m a Teen Librarian!), and while I absolutely love my job and am very grateful for it, it simply doesn’t leave me with hardly any time or energy for writing. So I took 3 days off, told my family I was staying home (my home!) for Thanksgiving (again, but that’s another story), and committed to finish my novel.

It isn’t easy to commit to writing like this, especially when you’re not published, you have a full time job, and your family doesn’t really understand what you do at work, let alone what you do in your free time. I seized the opportunity for some dedicated writing time, and it is so worth it.

How do you use your time off? How do you stay sane during holidays? Share your stories in the comments!

Leave a Reply

