Rave Review: TALON by Julie Kagawa

 

In Julie Kagawa’s groundbreaking modern fantasy series, dragons walk among us in human form. Long ago, dragons were hunted to near extinction by the Order of St. George, a legendary society of dragon slayers. Hiding in human form and growing their numbers in secret, the dragons of Talon have become strong and cunning, and they’re positioned to take over the world with humans none the wiser. Ember and Dante Hill are the only sister and brother known to dragonkind. Trained to infiltrate society, Ember wants to live the teen experience and enjoy a summer of freedom before taking her destined place in Talon.

What I loved: The dynamic between Garret, Ember, and Riley. I’m going to immediately go off on a tangent and relate TALON to my favorite anime series, Gundam Wing. Garret is Heero Yuy and Riley is Duo Maxwell. Heero is the Perfect Soldier. He always follows orders, he never shows emotion, and he is a killer. Duo is the trickster, always making jokes and breaking rules and generally getting into a lot of trouble, but he’s got a heart of gold and will do anything for his friends. The fact that they both fall for the same girl really gets my fangirl brain all muddled up (cause I ship Heero x Duo 5ever!) but it works so very well in TALON. The boys are real guys, the’re fascinating and believable and I fell in love with them, too. They’re so different and contrast each other in so many ways, but they also each complement Ember in their own ways. The were simply really well designed and well-written characters, and they really drove this whole story. 

What I wanted more of: Dante. There just wasn’t enough Dante. I’m hoping since the epilogue was from his POV that we’ll get a lot more from Dante’s perspective in the second book. But still, I was a little disappointed that all I got from Dante was his whining at Ember. I want to know more! He’s so intriguing and charming and lovely and I want to give him my attention. More Dante plz! 

Rogue (Talon, #2)Basically, this whole story was fantastic. Action, drama, hot surfing guys, dragonfire and fighting – it has it all. If you’re looking for a great new series to get wrapped up in and you like fantasy and romance, pick up TALON. Its modern setting is unique, and the lack of paranormal abilities (magic, vampirism, etc) in the characters is also a huge plus, in my opinion. I couldn’t put it down, and I’m really freaking disappointed that I have to wait until April 2015 for the second book, ROGUE. Julie Kagawa is a master of fantasy and romance writing, and if you haven’t read one of her series before I highly recommend starting with TALON! 

2 thoughts on “Rave Review: TALON by Julie Kagawa

  1. I’ve been seeing this book a lot but this is the first review I’ve read. Color me intrigued by that premise! I have to admit I was burned badly by Kagawa’s The Iron King but I am sorely tempted to give this one a try as I am a sucker for dragons.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The dragons are so cool. I mean, the characters are dragons with human forms, and they live in the modern world. I just realized it’s like James Bond + dragons! Which is so cool! It’s also very, very teen-drama-centric, so maybe add James Bond + Sweet Valley High + dragons. A winning combo, imo, but I’m sure not everyone thinks so :)

      Like

Leave a Reply

