Movie Review: Mockingjay Part 1

I was lucky to be a winner of the Lionsgate #MockingjayTickets contest and got to fly to L.A. this week, stay at a fancy hotel, and attend the premiere of “The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1” and it was an incredible experience! Check out my Google+ page for some photos from my trip, which doesn’t include photos from the premiere because you can’t take your phone or camera to such a thing.

Panem Propaganda has some great photos of the event, though, so check that out over here! 

rFsO3qa

Mockingjay Part 1 is, in my opinion, the best of the Hunger Games movies so far.

The acting is incredible. Julianne Moore really delivers as President Coin. She is intense, a little scary, very dedicated, and completely convincing. Josh’s Peeta is seriously heartbreaking. I don’t even like Peeta very much. But I still teared up every time he was on the screen, because he’s such a wreck! And the way he affects Katniss is seriously heartbreaking.

J-Law, of course, delivers a spectacular performance. Katniss is going through a lot of psychological trauma in Mockingjay, and Jennifer really steps up her performance to get that across. She is Katniss; she is that girl who knows she is going crazy but has to convince everyone she’s not. Even Gale. Oh, Gale. Liam Hemsworth is a fantastic Gale Hawthorne. He is so true to the character. He is perfect. I can’t articulate it any more than that! 

I loved the movie, and I’ll be watching it again as soon as it comes out on DVD. And I can’t wait for Part 2! The Hunger Games franchise is seriously the best book-to-movie adaptation ever in the history of YA book-movies. I am impressed with all of them.

If you’re a THG fan, get out there and see this movie! And seriously, someone start a three-finger salute at the beginning/end of it. Seriously. I wanted that to happen so bad in the Nokia Theater, but no one did it and I was too scared to step up. Whatever. Support the rebellion, people! Whistle your hearts out!

The Mockingjay Lives! 

One thought on “Movie Review: Mockingjay Part 1

  1. I’m still so excited for you that you got to go the premier! And happy to hear your early reports that this one is a winner. As we’ve discussed I’m sad that Part One will be sorely lacking in quality Peeta screen time but yay for a great adaptation!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

