Monday Memories: The Hunger Games

 1800461_1037479432935374_5079166517638612652_n
Can you believe that The Hunger Games was first released in 2008? I was in my 4th year of college, with a couple more years to go! I didn’t even end up reading THG series until my last semester of grad school in 2012. Seriously. I missed the freaking boat on that one, guys. So much has happened since then. I became a Teen Librarian. I have picked this book up off my library shelves only about a thousand times. I have recommended so many The Hunger Games read-alikes to teens, preteens, and adults. It really plays a big part in my life as a librarian.
 
Not only that, I really really loved the story, just as much as everyone else did! I particularly relate to Katniss, that sometimes-unlikable protagonist who is so genuinely herself at all times. Katniss has to make such hard decisions, and she doesn’t have time for love triangles and all that romance crap. Then they were made into movies, and the movies were spectacular. I mean, the first one was amazing. The second one, I cried so freaking hard every time Gale was on the screen.
 
And now, about the movie, Mockingjay Part 1. I hope you’re ready for this, because I have a super special announcement:

rFsO3qa

I won a contest sponsored by Lionsgate to attend the MOCKINGJAY Part 1 Premiere in Los Angeles tonight! That’s right, at this very moment I am in L.A., wandering around and probably splashing in the Pacific Ocean or eating sushi or something. And tonight I’ll be at the Premiere! AHHHH!!!! I AM FREAKING OUT EVEN NOW! Thank you SO MUCH to Lionsgate for hosting the Twitter contest #MockingjayTickets!!!

 I’ll be back Tuesday night, so stay tuned for pics from L.A. and my thoughts about the movie!


Monday Memories is an original feature/weekly meme created and hosted by Miss Print and the Book Bandit. We created Monday Memories because we both love and collect books and wanted to talk about them. We hope you’ll want to share too.

mondaymemoriesAnyone can join. But please, if you join in the fun, link back to Miss Print and/or the Book Bandit on your own Monday Memories post AND add your name to the Link list included with our posts every week so that everyone can check out other posts! If you don’t have a blog, you can post your thoughts as a comment. And, of course, have fun!
Now that you know how it works, here’s what it is: Monday Memories is super simple. Just take a photo of a book from your personal library (or a library book that’s significant to you, etc.) and talk about why it matters. Is it your first ever signed book? The first book you reviewed on your blog? Whatever it is, write it up in a Monday Memories post and share it. 
One thought on “Monday Memories: The Hunger Games

  1. Pingback: Seize the Tuesday #5: Travel Reading | Blogging Between the Lines

Leave a Reply

