Monday Memories: The Croak Series

 

IMG_20140902_141226The CROAK series by Gina Damico has a special place in my heart.
First of all, have you read them? (If not, WTF?! Go read them right now. Then come back and read about my CROAK Monday Memories. Go, I’ll wait. Why are you still here?!)
 
Okay, second of all: Driggs + Lex = THE BEST BOOK RELATIONSHIP EVER. The first time they kissed, she threw pizza at him. They bond over oreos. They are messy and ridiculous and they fight and they love each other and they are so screwed up that they are perfect.
 
Now that I’ve gotten that out of the way, you may be wondering exactly why the CROAK series holds a special place in my heart.
 
It’s the first series I really bonded over with my library teens. Sure, we’d talked about books before and shared IMG_20140902_141235our favorites and such. But until CROAK, no real fangirl-freaking-out about books happened. Until Croak, my book club attendance was very sad. Until CROAK, I’d never read an entire book out loud before. Until CROAK, we didn’t have oreos at teen programs. *gasp!* How could that be?
 
Well, my teens loved Croak. It is still the book I recommend the most to other teens. it is the book we end up talking about the most. It is the book that we read and discussed (and Skyped with Gina) 2 years in a row for Beyond the Book. It is a book that still hurts a little when I think about the ending. Oh, and it was the first blog roguesidebartour I was ever a stop on, so thanks to Gina for that ^_^
 
CROAK, SCORCH, and ROGUE are just very special to me. I stop and smile just about every time I walk by copies of them on my library’s shelves – they are wrinkled, stained, and the covers are bent because they are so well-loved/read (but still shiny!). I remember fondly the days we spent reminiscing over scythes and jokes, discussing the contents of Yoricks, and lamenting over how much we miss the characters. Maybe we’ll re-read the entire series for a book club session again next year.
 
 

mondaymemoriesMonday Memories is an original feature/weekly meme created and hosted by Miss Print and the Book Bandit. We created Monday Memories because we both love and collect books and wanted to talk about them. We hope you’ll want to share too.
 
Anyone can join. But please, if you join in the fun, link back to Miss Print and/or the Book Bandit on your own Monday Memories post AND add your name to the Link list included with our posts every week so that everyone can check out other posts! If you don’t have a blog, you can post your thoughts as a comment. And, of course, have fun!
 
Now that you know how it works, here’s what it is: Monday Memories is super simple. Just take a photo of a book from your personal library (or a library book that’s significant to you, etc.) and talk about why it matters. Is it your first ever signed book? The first book you reviewed on your blog? Whatever it is, write it up in a Monday Memories post and share it.
Leave a Reply

