Quotable Passages

Often he rose early in the morning, before anyone else, and poured himself liquid through the sunrise streets, and everything seemed beautiful, everything in its proper orbit, nothing impossible, the entire world attainable.

— The Chocolate War by Robert Cormier

I had to stop and read this over again, and then after I turned the page, I went back and read it again. There is so much going on in this sentence. And the commas. I <3 commas, all of them.

This book is something I wish I had read years ago. I am going to make up for this by recommending it to every middle and high school boy that reads. Or at least, I’ll try.

Leave a Reply

