Invisibility – Audiobook Review

InvisibilityBook summary from Goodreads:

A magical romance between a boy cursed with invisibility and the one girl who can see him, by New York Times best-selling authors Andrea Cremer and David Levithan.

Stephen is used to invisibility. He was born that way. Invisible. Cursed.

Elizabeth sometimes wishes for invisibility. When you’re invisible, no one can hurt you. So when her mother decides to move the family to New York City, Elizabeth is thrilled. It’s easy to blend in there.

Then Stephen and Elizabeth meet. To Stephen’s amazement, she can see him. And to Elizabeth’s amazement, she wants him to be able to see her – all of her. But as the two become closer, an invisible world gets in their way – a world of grudges and misfortunes, spells and curses. And once they’re thrust into this world, Elizabeth and Stephen must decide how deep they’re going to go – because the answer could mean the difference between love and death.

I listened to the audiobook version of Invisibility in my car, during my commute to and from work. I fell in love with the story as soon as I heard Stephen’s first chapter.

First of all, the narration is absolutely impeccable. Mandy Siegfried and MacLeod Andrews read alternating chapters from Elizabeth’s and Stephen’s points of view, respectively. They changed their voices for each character’s dialogue, and it was clear, even between the 2 narrators, who was speaking what line. There was absolutely no confusion about dialogue or action, which is always a risk with audiobooks. The way Mandy did Laurie’s voice, in particular, was so endearing and adorable! 

Okay, let’s talk about Laurie. And why he is not in the summary?! Laurie is Elizabeth’s younger brother, and he is my favorite character. Laurie is my hero, my future bff, my ultimate gay friend, my light of hope and humor shining in the darkness. I absolutely love that boy. He is the best little brother anyone could ever have. 

Alright, let’s try to be somewhat coherent here. But I just can’t even. This story is simply breathtaking. I was hooked on every word. I scrambled to change the disc in my car while driving 75 mph on a 5 lane highway. I yelled and pleaded and cried with the characters – out loud – in my car. I couldn’t stop myself. I could picture every detail of Manhattan as the story unfolds. I could feel the emotion in every dramatic and powerful moment. I was so sad to hear the end of the story, that last track on the last disc, so I pushed the back button and listened to the last track again. And it was perfect. It was a perfect ending to an amazing story.

Everyone should read this. If you like romance, contemporary, paranormal, fantasy, magic, science fiction – read it. If you want something to make you cry, make you laugh, make you stay up late finishing it – read it.

And if you can, listen to it. Trust me. Make Stephen visible in your own way by joining his and Elizabeth and Laurie’s story. 

Leave a Reply

