Currently Reading in 2014

2014 is going to be another year of YA for me, but I’m also hoping to expand into some niche non-fiction based on my own interests. This is more of a challenge than it sounds, because whenever I pick up a non-fiction book it takes me so, so long to get through it, and in between those informational chapters I pick up one or two or even five YA fiction books and devour them. Kind of a bad habit. But it’s how I read. In starts and stops and fits and such. Non-fiction especially, I can’t seem to read the entire thing all at once. Definitely something there to be said about my attention span, huh?

Anyway, here’s what I’m reading now:

  Are You Alice?, Vol. 2   Kawaii!: Japan's Culture of Cute  

A couple of newer releases, one ARC, a new volume of manga, and two nonfiction: one about the history of kawaii and its current culture in Japan, and another about kitsune in Japanese mythology, culture, and history. 

Kitsune by Kiyoshi NozakiI have some ideas floating around in my head about retelling some Japanese folktales, but they’re just amorphous blobs in my brain right now. I’m hoping to solidify them with some reading of Japanese tales, myths, and legends!

Skin and BonesSkin and Bones is pretty good so far. It comes out in March 2014, and I hope it gets a better cover when it does. . .

 

Lost Covenant is the final book in the Widdershins trilogy by Ari Marmell, and I’m pretty excited Lost Covenant (Widdershins Adventures, #3)to finish it. It is probably the best example of high fantasy for teens since Tamora Pierce’s heyday. 

These Broken Stars (Starbound, #1)These Broken Stars is going to be a lovely epic of a sci-fi romance. I’m holding off on reading further than chapter 4, because I know it’s going to suck me in and not let me go until I read the entire thing in a day or two. Just not a good idea when I have ARCS to finish!

2 thoughts on “Currently Reading in 2014

  1. Hi Eden. I just wanted to let you know that Lost Covenant isn’t actually the last book…there’s one more coming out in early 2015!

    Like

Leave a Reply

