NaNoWriMo Update

NaNoWriMo is seriously the best source of motivation ever. A month-long race to write 50,000 words of a novel, undertaken by hundreds of thousands of writers across the world. And this year I took up the challenge. I really didn’t expect to like it so much. To enjoy writing, even with this looming deadline. To come up with anything remotely creative.

But I’ve done all of those things. I have written about 35,800 words this month. 35,800 words that did not exist in this world before November 1st. And they are all mine. I am writing a Young Adult Dystopic Romance featuring aliens, rebels, corrupt governments, explosions, fights, kissing scenes, and a lot more shenanigans that I haven’t written yet. But I will. Because I’m going to win this month. I will write a total of 50,000 words this month. Before November 1st I never thought I could, but now I know I can.

Mirai from BtB is a seriously nerdy superhero. She has glasses, wears cardigans, loves books & bonsai, and fights with a blood sword. Totally legit.

 

I feel kind of like a writing superhero. A nerdy superhero hunched over a computer with dark circles under her eyes and a hand that blindly reaches for coffee at all times of the day. Who turns her dachshund away from her lap and resists all manner of puppy dog eyes. Who stops watching the newest episodes of Beyond the Boundary and Kill la Kill because she just needs to hammer out another 800 words by the end of the day. Who wonders what space lizards do for fun and how they mate and tries not to ask those questions on facebook because that is ridiculous. Who is behind on her reading list and may never catch up but who cares because I’m creating a story. 

I’m creating a world, giving birth to entirely new people, giving them life and vitality and then taking it away whenever I feel like it. I can do all of these things with my hands. 

Metaphors aside, I seriously plan on getting to that 50,000 word goal. Thanks for the novel, NaNoWriMo!

 

Leave a Reply

