NaNoWriMo – For the first time

National Novel Writing Month starts in 2 and a half days. I am not ready.

I’ve never done something like this before. This will be my first NaNoWriMo, but not my first attempt to write a novel. I’ve always like writing, but only recently wanted to turn my ideas into novels. I hope that by participating in NaNo I can take the initiative, have motivation, work up the chutzpah to actually nearly complete something that really shapes up like a novel.

50,000 words in one month. That is more than enough to turn into a Young Adult Science Fiction/Romance novel about invading space lizards and the girls that love them.

I really have no idea what I’m doing! But that’s where NaNoWriMo comes in. I made an account. I can track my progress. I can get help. And motivation. And pep talks. And feedback. And silly cartoons for procrastinating. But not coffee. I am going to become 110% addicted to coffee next month. But that’s okay, as long as I can end the month with 50,000 words of a story that I didn’t have on November 1st. I think I can do this. Rainbow Rowell thinks I can too. She’s a pretty awesome author. Lots of other cool authors over on the official website have lots of great things to say, too.

I don’t have a plan for writing, and I feel like that is usually a weakness for most writers. I don’t think I will set any goals or objectives. I’ll just feel bad about myself when I don’t meet them. And realistically, I don’t think I could meet a goal like writing 1600 words a day every day for a whole month that is just craziness. I have a full time job that I love but that take up 40+ hours of my week and a princess-like dachshund that I am wholeheartedly devoted to and a best friend/bf I care about and want to spend time with every day and writing just is going to have to take a back seat to the rest of my life, even though for most people during NaNoWriMo it is seriously the other way around. Probably not going to work for me.

But I’m going to make NaNo work, somehow. I will end up with at least a few thousand words that I didn’t have this month. Anyone else taking the challenge this year? Tell me how you go about writing! And add me on the NaNo website ^_^

 

Leave a Reply

