Alice in the Country of Hearts

 

 

I personally am not a fan of the original Alice in Wonderland or Alice Through the Looking Glass or even the classic animated “Alice in Wonderland” movie. There is something unnerving about it. I categorize it with the other popular and classic films that make me uncomfortable: “The Wizard of Oz”, “The Never-Ending Story”, “The Phantom Tollbooth” and “The Last Unicorn.” I get the chills just thinking about it. So let’s move on.

I absolutely loved the first 2 volumes of Alice in the Country of Hearts. I read them in an well-read and very worn-out omnibus edition that my library has, and as soon as I finished I looked on the catalog to see if the second volume was on the shelf. I started reading the second one on my lunch break today and I’m half finished. I just love it so much. Here’s what I love about it:

Alice is feisty, but not Tsundere. She isn’t mean, but she stands up for herself and stands her ground.

The male characters are so varied and different, and their character designs are incredible detailed; they have so much depth as people. I am kind of in love with them all. Except that pesky Peter White!

The story isn’t creepy at all. There is nothing in it that creeps me out or makes me uncomfortable. I know, pretty weird to be creeped out by Alice in Wonderland-y stuff, but…it’s pretty important to me.

The plot is impeccable in its forward motion, short yet captivating story arcs, and introduction of new characters is seamless and smooth. The author reveals secrets and mysteries slowly, but without too much teasing. It is all just so good.

So go out and read it. Start with Alice in the Country of Hearts omnibus volume 1, then move on to volume 2. Then move on to Alice in the Country of Clover. And then finally on to Alice in the Country of Joker. And wait for more. There will always be more Alice and her interactions and relationships with the men of Wonderland.

One thought on “Alice in the Country of Hearts

  1. Pingback: Are you Alice in the County of Hearts? | The Cosplaying Librarian

Leave a Reply

