YA Author Andrew Smith

1383409passenger

Andrew Smith is my new favorite author, and has been since last November, when I first picked up a copy of The Marbury Lens. It was a pretty awesome experience, because I got a copy of both The Marbury Lens and Passenger for free, from a table where Andrew Smith was sitting, and then he signed them. Exciting. The Marbury Lens changed my entire outlook on YA books and writing. Plus Jack is the absolute hands-down best name ever for a boy protagonist. Anyway.

11861815

I just finished reading Winger, his most recent book. I laughed out loud so many times during that story. That’s kind of a big deal for me. And then I broke down and my eyes got all teary and I actually gasped-sobbed at the very end. It hurt.

Andrew Smith does that. He creates these perfectly intense stories that get inside your head, then your heart, then they stab you right there in your feelings. And it is so real. Because you’ve felt that before in real life, in your own life, and he gives you those feelings right back in his stories, so you can share the feelings of all those lost and incredible boy protagonists he makes so, so very real to the readers.

Somehow I still haven’t read his first book, Ghost Medicine. But I will soon. In fact, I’m going to go grab it off my library’s YA Fiction shelves right now, even though I have several other books I am currently reading. Because it is going to be so, so good.

Don’t get me wrong: these books aren’t for everyone. If you don’t want the brutal, honest, vulgar, blunt truth of real life shoved down your throat and into your lungs so you can’t escape it then maybe you shouldn’t pick up The Marbury Lens or In the Path of Falling Objects. I still think you should read Stick or Winger. I think some of Andrew Smith’s books could be used for high school English and Lit classes quite successfully, and I know they appeal to both teens and adults. I highly recommend all of them.

1035566260640343260674

Leave a Reply

