Teen Tech Week

images

I am going all out for Teen Tech Week this year!

It is my first year as an official Teen Librarian, and I wanted to do everything I could to promote events like this. I knew I would regret it if I didn’t. I may still live to regret it! I have SO much going on!

The program my teens are looking forward to the most is Tech-cessorize. We spent half an hour the other day destroying computer parts like CD drives, keyboards, and hard drives. On Monday evening we’re going to make jewelry and stuff out of the parts.

The program that I am most excited about it the Book Trailer Contest. Some girls in my writing group have already made a couple of hilarious book trailers, so I’m excited to see what they come up with! I have open recording sessions two nights this week so that teens can use the library’s video camera, digital camera, laptops, and iPad to record and edit video. I’m excited to see what books and/or manga they choose to make videos for! We’ll vote on the entries over the next week and then the winner gets a Dragon Touch Android tablet :D

Click here for KCPL's Teen Tech Week Pinterest board!

I made a Pinterest board with lots of techy things on it, from HTML guides, geek-chic craft books, photography DVDs, and YA fiction with a techy-sci-fi feel. I don’t often use Pinterest, though I feel like it is a social media outlet that appeals more to adult than teens. Anyway, it’s fun to Pin sometimes :) So click over there on that giant P for some pins!

 

If you’re interested in learning more about Teen Tech Week check out ALA’s recent article about why technological literacy is crucial for teens. TTW is a great opportunity for libraries to help teens create and innovate with the digital resources we have!

Leave a Reply

