Into Burning Space

Science fiction has always been my favorite genre of storytelling.

I long for the day when a chip/cable/nanodevice can be implanted in my brain and directly connect me to the Internet. I dream about optical digital displays overlaying my world. I love reading about space travel, endless possibilities of planets and alien races, futuristic technology I can’t even fathom. I especially enjoy hard sci-fi, in which the science is so detailed, technical and complicated, not to mention incredibly accurate, that I can barely understand what’s going on or how it works.

rpd_spaceX.jpg

When the global commercial space flight challenge began I was so, so excited. Now there are regular commercial space flights to the ISS. This is so amazing. Why is it amazing? Here’s what NASA has to say about why private spaceflight is a big deal:  optical digital displays overlaying my world. I love reading about space travel, endless possibilities of planets and alien races, futuristic technology I can’t even fathom. I especially enjoy hard sci-fi, in which the science is so detailed, technical and complicated, not to mention incredibly accurate, that I can barely understand what’s going on or how it works.

“Commercial space transportation is a vital component to the future of human space exploration. As NASA charts a new course to send humans deeper into space than ever before, we are stimulating efforts within the private sector to develop and operate safe, reliable and affordable commercial space transportation systems.”

NASA has this cool interactive module that shows the various aspects of commercializing space. It sounds a bit iffy, kind of intimating, and maybe like a bad idea, but I don’t think so. I’m all for it. It may seem that privatizing space flight will only allow the privileged and rich access to it, but I don’t think that’s true. Right now only the privileged and educated few have access to space. With commercialized spaceflight the future could lead to spaceflight airfare costing the same as flying to Europe does now!

SpaceX Successfully Launches the Falcon 9 and Dragon Spacecraft

Play with the interactive module here and decide for yourself.

One thought on “Into Burning Space

  1. I would recommend to you the book, “The Singularity Is Near” by Ray Kurzweil. His theories about computer and nanotechnology really speak to a lot of the things you touch upon here.

    Like

Leave a Reply

