YA Dystopian Romance.

It is such a big thing right now. I completely understand the appeal. However, I absolutely detest romance that is subversive in my YA dystopias. A story about a super tough and clever girl outwitting the government to save her little brother from scientists who want to hack his brain? Awesome. A guy who is at first a jerk but then helps her out and she falls in love with him despite him being a jerk and then he befriends her little brother and they all live happily ever after while they save the world? That’s great too, as long as I’m expecting it. I don’t like surprises, especially not the surprise of romance muddling up my hardcore post-apocalyptic and/or dystopian young adult fiction.

My favorite YA Dystopian Romance right now is Delirium by Lauren Oliver. My super close second fave is Defiance by. C.J. Redwine.

My least favorite is Outpost by Ann Aguirre. That romance needs to die. The zombies, however, are awesome.

So, if anyone is reading this, what are your thoughts? What are your favorites? What are your least favorites?
Leave a Reply

