Roleplaying in the Library

Dungeons and Dragons. You can defeat creatures like this.

http://yalsa.ala.org/blog/2012/09/24/getting-the-most-out-of-rpgs-in-your-library-pt-1/

The blog entry above from YALSA is a great intro to how valuable a variety of gaming can be for a library. I’m really looking forward to the follow-up posts and I hope to get some practical advice and ideas from them!

I am a firm believer that gaming belongs in the library. I see a lot of video gaming in libraries, often done if creative and really fun ways that draw in a lot of teens and preteens, but I rarely ever see tabletop gaming or trading card games being played in the library. This is something I want to change. I think my personal experiences with a variety of tabletop gaming will be a great advantage to accomplishing this at my library.

I would love to start out with Pokemon, YuGiOh, and Magic: The Gathering gaming sessions for newbies and experienced players. I feel like I could test out interest through the cool events my library already has going on, and probably get some guaranteed attendance that way, too.

Then I want to move on to TCG tourneys, then maybe start exploring patron interest in tabletop gaming like D&D, Pathfinder, and other role-playing adventures. I’m so excited about these ideas and opportunities!!

Leave a Reply

